Santorin Deutsch

Fira

(to be pronounced Firá, stressing the »a«)

Firaís houses glow snow-white in front of the black caldera edge, looming 300 m. 566 stairs lead steeply up through a maze of narrow lanes, and even more rambling houses. Some of them use their roofs as a terrace. It is much more relaxed to get up by cablecar, or on a muleís back. Just beside the orthodox cathedral there is the Atlatnis, Santoriniís oldest hotel. The small port of Skala once was landing stage for most ferries, but today only small boats and cruisers anchor here.

Fira Fira Fira
Serpentinenweg Seilbahn Skala

Being Santoriniís centre and capital, the former contemplative town of Fira has lost a lot of its idyll due to restaurants, cafes, snack bars, souvenir shops and travel agencies. What remains is its unique location and the breath-taking view Ė the keyword is "caldera view". Every evening one is impressed by the always unique sunset. To watch it is cult Ė that is why the promenade gets really crowded by that time. When the evening light bathes the houses and lanes in a golden shine, and the other islandsí dark shapes emerge in front of the red sky, all the tavernas are crowded as well.

Santorini Sunset Fira Fira

Among Firaís sites there is first of all the Archaeological Museum, presenting findings from the Geometric, Roman and Byzantine time. Not far from the cableway station, in the former Catholic district, there is the Catholic cathedral with a Dominican cloister. In the Megaro Gizi Museum, you can see photos showing Santorini before and after the horrible earthquake in 1956, as well as a collection of old engravings and documents, taken from the islandís bishopís archive. Also, familiy Giziís Venetian style residency is well worth a visit. Lines between Fira and its neighbour villages Firostefani and Imerovigli are blurred. If you prefer calm, your choice should be Firostefani. It is a dream in white, which can be reached within fifteen minutes and is departure point for one of the most beautiful walks on Santorini: walking along the caldera you get up, on narrow paths, up to Oia.


Fira und Skala Firostefani Firostefani



 
 
© 2005-2018 - URL: http://www.santorin.gr/en/fira.php - Contact

Santorini English

Fira

(ausgesprochen Firá, mit der Betonung auf dem »a«)

Schneeweiß blitzen die Häuser von Fira vor dem schwarzen Kraterrand, der 300 m hoch aufragt. 566 Stufen führen auf 300 m Höhenunterschied steil hinauf durch enge, verwinkelte Gassen und noch verwinkeltere Häuser. Manchem dient das Dach eines darunterliegenden Hauses gleichzeitig als Terrasse. Entspannter lässt sich die Höhe mit der Seilbahn oder auf dem Rücken eines der Maultiere überwinden. Gleich neben der orthodoxen Kathedrale steht am Kraterrand das Atlantis, das älteste Hotel der Insel. Der kleine Hafen Skala war einstmals Anlegestelle für die meisten Fähren. Heute ankern hier nur noch kleinere Boote und Kreuzfahrtschiffe.

Fira Fira Fira
Serpentinenweg Seilbahn Skala

Als Zentrum und Inselhauptstadt von Santorin hat der einstmals beschauliche Ort Fira durch die Vielzahl an Restaurants, Cafés, Snackbars, Souvenirläden und Reisebüros einiges an Idylle eingebüßt. Geblieben ist die einmalige Lage und damit verbunden der atemberaubende Blick - "Caldera View" lautet das Stichwort. Zum Ausklang des Tages beeindruckt der immer wieder einmalige Sonnenuntergang. Der ist Kult, und deshalb wird es dann auf der Promenade ziemlich eng. Wenn das Abendlicht die Häuser und Gässchen in Goldglanz taucht und die dunklen Umrisse der gegenüberliegenden Inseln sich vor dem roten Himmel abzeichnen, dann sind auch die Tavernen mehr als voll.

Santorini Sunset Fira Fira

Zu den Sehenswürdigkeiten Firas zählt allen voran das Archäologische Museum mit Funden aus geometrischer, römischer und byzantinischer Zeit. Unweit der Seilbahnstation liegt im ehemaligen Katholischen Viertel die katholische Kathedrale mit dem Dominikanerinnen-Kloster. Fotos, die Santorini vor und nach dem schrecklichen Erdbeben von 1956 zeigen, eine Sammlung alter Stiche und Dokumente aus dem Archiv des Inselbischofs zeigt das Megaro Gizi Museum. Auch die im venezianischen Stil erbaute Residenz der Familie Gizi ist einen Besuch wert. Die Grenzen zwischen Fira und den benachbarten Dörfern Firostefani und Imerovigli sind fließend. Wer es lieber etwas ruhiger mag, bevorzugt Firostefani. Ein Traum in Weiß, in 15 Minuten erreicht und Ausgangspunkt zu einer der schönsten Wanderungen. Entlang der Caldera geht es auf schmalen Pfaden bis nach Oia.


Fira und Skala Firostefani Firostefani




 
 
© 2005-2017 - URL: http://www.santorin.gr/fira.php - Contact